Sungkyunkwan Scandal – Episode 15 Wallpapers

1920 x 1200

SKKS sure has some pretty scenes!  This one has been on my to-do list for a long time, and I didn’t think a watercolor would do it justice.

Click each thumbnail for full size!

1680 x 1050

1280 x 1024

1280 x 800

1024 x 640

1024 x 768

2806 x 1476 - original

640 x 960 - High Res iPhone

320 x 480 - Low Res iPhone

I also uploaded a desatured version for anyone who likes that sort of thing. I’m only posting one size, so you’ll have to resize and crop it yourself if you need a different resolution!

1920 x 1200 desat

I wanted this drawing to look more like a painting and less like a screenshot, so I amped up the color and didn’t obsess as much over the details.  I’m not sure if that was the best way to go now that I’m finished, but I’m relatively happy with the results.  It was one of the drawings where the last 5% took 20 times longer than the first 95%, so I’m relieved that it’s finished and I can go to bed!

The shot is from one of those excruciating scenes with Moon Jae Shin and Yoon Hee, where YH cluelessly talks about issues related to her secret, not knowing that JS knows everything. In this particular scene she is asking what she should do if she has such a big secret that she’s worried the person she’s lied to won’t forgive her. He tells her to tell the truth, and she says she’s afraid that the person will turn their back on her forever. JS asks if the person is the one she likes?

Even just thinking about the scene breaks my heart. Does it not even occur to YH that she’s lying to JS too? He wishes so badly that “the person” is him, and even though he knows better he seems to hold onto the tiniest bit of hope. I want to shake YH and tell her that the perfect man is right in front of her. JS already knows! He doesn’t care! You won’t even need to ask for forgiveness!

Sigh…I really shouldn’t draw this drama. The second lead syndrome is just too hard to handle.

Since I’m feeling nostalgic about this drama now,  the video of the day is a Sungkyunkwan scandal MV. I really like this one because it focuses on all the characters.  Credit to maifantasy!

13 responses

    • I just did the original outline on a piece of computer paper with a mechanical pencil (which I scanned) and then did the actual painting in Corel Painter (with a wacom tablet). Or do you mean what tools do I use within the software? I keep it simple and do almost everything with the thick-and-thin pen tool (I like that the width and opacity both vary with pressure). Based on your banners I’m guessing you’re a Photoshop person though. I wish I knew how to use PS half as well as you!

  1. I don’t really like Photoshop. It’s fun from time to time. I prefer Illustrator. Easier to manipulate. I’ll use Photoshop to edit out backgrounds and then lay everything out in Illustrator. I haven’t painted anything in years. Unless pumpkins count. I wish I knew how to paint using software, I’m good with computers but veer towards programming rather than designing. Thank you for sharing your art.

  2. oh man you said I would like it but you were wrong – I think it’s my fav one of MJS yet. please please new header – pretty please 🙂 I know you are busy and stuff but I have to stare at this more frequently. That library scene killed me cuz I swear my insides were in pain cuz it was like she kicked him away with her words. When he turned to look back at her, everything he didnt say was written all over his face.

    • Oh silly Softy. I’ve already sent you the header! I knew you would be impatient for this one 🙂

      Also, I love that you immediately remembered the exact scene. I can’t even think about it anymore because it’s causing me anxiety. How could she should not pick him and shatter his heart at every opportunity???

      btw, this drawing unfortunately took way longer that it should’ve, and I had to neglect O brothers as a result. I know you forgive me because it’s YAI though 😀

  3. Pingback: BX503B 5000 Lumens 1024 x 768 XGA 2800:1 DLP Projector |

    • Dramas like SKKS make me wish I could erase my memory just so I could experience them fresh again. Regardless, I think I may have to rewatch it again soon (even though the MJS moments are too heartbreaking to handle) . It’s such a pretty show, and I’m annoyed that I watched it before I started this blog. So many missed drawing opportunities!

  4. my goodness that is Beautiful, Fanderay! I wanted to reach into my screen and let my knuckles meet her head for doing that to MJS! that was a very heartbroken scene for poor JS 😦 oh that face.. ha I so remember softy’s live-recap of this and the few MJS fans broken at that moment…awwww..the SKKS days 🙂 thanks you two gotta head on over to Cadence and check out the new header if it’s up.
    it’s lovely Fanderay but that’s coming from a non-artistic person if that counts 🙂 love it!

    • It always makes me sad that I didn’t get to experience the SKKS phenomenon live. Especially since there were others (like you!) to share in my second-lead shipping woes. Usually I just suffer alone 😦

      And of course your opinion counts! If I only had artists critiquing me I would be way too scared to blog! 😛

  5. It’s so BEAUTIFUL. You add magnificence in my favorite character, Moon Jae Shin. i Love him so much in Sungkyunkwan Scandal.

    You are truly talented, I hope you will email me. But, I will contact you at soompi. ^^

Leave a Reply

